2010 Other Words Conference Evening Readers

Thursday, Nov. 4th, 7: 30 p.m., Flagler Room: Laura Lee Smith and William Slaughter

Laura Lee Smith's short fiction has appeared in New Stories from the South: The Year's Best, 2010, The Florida Review, Natural Bridge, Bayou and other journals, and it received the Snake Nation Press prize for short fiction.

William Slaughter is editor and publisher of Mudlark, an electronic journal of poetry and poetics; author of The Politics of my Heart and Untold Stories; and Professor Emeritus of English at the University of North Florida.


Friday, Nov. 5th, 7:30 p.m., Flagler Room: Lola Haskins and Wil Haygood

Wil Haygood is a prizewinning Washington Post staff writer and an acclaimed biographer. His In Black and White: The Life of Sammy Davis Jr., won the Zora Neale Hurston-Richard Wright Legacy Award, and was named Nonfiction Book of the Year by the Black Caucus of the American Library Association.


Lola Haskins' ninth collection of poems, Still, the Mountain, has just been published by Paper Kite Press. Her tenth, The Grace to Leave, is coming from Anhinga in 2011. Prior to those were Solutions Beginning with A, The Rim Benders, and Desire Lines, New and Selected Poems.


Saturday, Nov. 6th, 7:30 p.m., Flagler Room: Terese Svoboda and Diane Wakoski

Terese Svoboda's writing has been featured in The New Yorker, Times Literary Supplement, The New York Times, The Atlantic Monthly, Slate.com, Bomb, Lit, Columbia, Yale Review and The Paris Review. Her honors include an O. Henry for the short story, a nonfiction Pushcart Prize, and the Iowa Prize in poetry.


Diane Wakoski has published more than forty collections of poems. Her honors include a Fulbright fellowship, a Michigan Arts Foundation award, and grants from the Guggenheim Foundation, the Michigan Arts Council, the National Endowment for the Arts, and the New York State Council on the Arts.