2016 Other Words Conference: "The Literary Art of Writing Funny" Call for Panels!

Other Words is coming! We're officially calling for panels for our 2016 conference on November 3-5, 2016 at Flagler College in St. Augustine.   Deadline for proposals is June 1, 2016.


This year's theme is Writing Funny: The Literary Art of Humor. We imagine this to include writing humorous works in all literary genres.  Essentially, our focus is on the intersections and interactions of comedy and literary writing. Let us reiterate that Other Words focuses on writing and not literary criticism. We are not looking for papers and panels as to why an author's work is funny, but how to -create- literary comedy. And, as always, while we prefer proposals related to our theme, we will consider panels that are unrelated. Prefered panel proposals will discuss the craft of writing as opposed to those that feature only panelists doing readings. However, a mix of the two is a good strategy. We strongly recommend a panel proposal which includes at least three panel members as it's difficult to match solo proposals with compatible participants. 

Please submit your ideas using the link below!


Welcome to the Florida Literary Arts Coalition, Florida's voice for independent literary magazines, publishers, & writers. Founded in 2004 by Anhinga Press, Fiction Collective 2, and the University of Tampa Press, the Florida Literary Arts Coalition is a nonprofit network of writers, teachers, editors, publishers, and sympathetic institutions collaborating to advance new writing and independent publishing throughout the state and region.


The Florida Literary Arts Coalition is also a founding co-sponsor of the Florida Book Awards.


Be sure to check NEWS for recent announcements and conference photos. And check out the FLAC News Blog for up-to-date news and comments, as well as a list of literary writers touring the state on our Florida Writers' Circuit. You can also visit FLAC on Facebook.

2014 Other Words Photo Gallery

Photos courtesy of Michael Macdonald.